Back to News

2022 AIChE Separations Division FRI/Neil Yeoman Innovation Award winner


    Dan Summers, Director of AIChE's Separations Division, notified FRI that Dr. Miao Yu is the winner of the 2022 AIChE Separations Division FRI/Neil Yeoman Innovation Award. Dr. Miao Yu Joined the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering at the State University of New York at Buffalo as an Empire Innovation Professor in January 2021. He obtained B.S. (1998) and M.S. (2002) degrees from Tianjin University, China. He earned his Ph.D. degree from CU-Boulder in 2007, and subsequently worked in the same department as a postdoctoral researcher from 2007 to 2010. Dr. Yu has published approximately 90 peer-reviewed papers, with two in Science and others in Nature CommunicationsAdvanced MaterialsJACSNano LettersAngewandte Chemie International EditionACS CatalysisChemical Communications, etc. He is a recipient of 2015 NSF Career Award.

    The Innovation Award honors the memory of Neil Yeoman, a charter member of both the Separations Division as well as the Design Practices Committee of Fractionation Research Inc. (FRI).  His long time dedication to the Separations Division was exemplified by applying practical solutions to existing problems.

    This award recognizes outstanding contributions to scientific, technological, or industrial areas involving separations technologies. Criteria considered in selecting an awardee include development and implementation of significant discoveries, creative research, or new processes and/or products. The innovation should have demonstrated significant and measurable commercial, environmental, or societal value.

    FRI thanks AIChE for helping to honor Neil's legacy and congratulations to Dr. Yu.